Turbo Buick Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working on an 87 T-Type that's been sitting for the last ~5 years or so. I've done the spring cleaning, cleaned the fuel tank and installed a Walbro 340 pump, installed an LT1 alternator, and most recently I swapped to the F-body radiator and changed the water pump. I finally got to take the car out and flog it a bit and I'm pretty un-impressed. I don't think the car is making any boost, I can foot brake the car and floor the gas and nothing happens. The engine just revs to a point, no turbo sound, no burnout, no nothing. I could sit like that all day if I chose. From a dead stop, if I mash the gas, it takes about 10 seconds to reach 25 MPH, still litle to no turbo noise.

Other than the mods I listed, the car is 100% stock.

Any thoughts on where I should be looking?

·
Dont visit foreign SITES
3,092 Posts
Maybe the turbo is siezed up.
Take off the MAF pipe to turbo inlet unplug the MAf, start the car and see if the compressor side is turning.

·
OK! Who Farted Again??
17,852 Posts
Any major pre turbo exhaust leaks? That will do it!

·
Resident Slut
5,477 Posts
I vote for wastegate actuator not working or hooked up right...Don't worry I took care of the locals 2 weeks ago when I was in town :yup:

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
87GTA-turbo said:
Maybe the turbo is siezed up.
Take off the MAF pipe to turbo inlet unplug the MAf, start the car and see if the compressor side is turning.
The turbo spins freely by hand, so that's not it.

Any major pre turbo exhaust leaks? That will do it!
None that I can hear, the car is quiet as a mouse. I'll check more carefully tomorrow though.

I vote for wastegate actuator not working or hooked up right...
That's what I was thinking. How do I diagnose it?

Don't worry I took care of the locals 2 weeks ago when I was in town