Turbo Buick Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone I'm not new to Gbodys but I'm new to the Turbo Buicks what the main things I should really look at when purchasing a turbo regal is there any dead giveaways of problems? The car is a 1987 Buick T type with T tops.

What is so advice you can all give me.

I'm only 19 and I dont have alot of car experince just yet so I cant wait to get my hands on this car and just have at it.:6::headbang:

Also was this the right fourm for this question? :dunno:
Thanks

Justin

·
2 GN's = No money!!
5,116 Posts
Make sure there is no rot in the T-top area or any where else for that matter. Some T-top cars once they get some miles on them don't seal very well and water gets in which starts the rusting process as you know. Examine very closely for rust.

Good luck,

·
Registered
1,371 Posts
Rust

Make sure there is no rot in the T-top area or any where else for that matter. Some T-top cars once they get some miles on them don't seal very well and water gets in which starts the rusting process as you know. Examine very closely for rust.

Good luck,

x2 with Paul on this.

Here's my thoughts on the subject. I am by no means an expert on these cars but have been around them for long enough to have seen my share of these problems.

In addition to the T Tops, check the Floor pan on drivers & passenger side directly under dash too. If T tops have been leaking, you may find this area rust prone too.

Although I do not own a T Top car, because of this potential rust issue and the body flexing that our G bodies are noted for.....I chose a hardtop when I went looking to purchase a car.

Rear 2 frame rails directly behind back wheels.....these are notorious for retaining dirt / crud & moisutre and are prone to rotting out as well.