Turbo Buick Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope that someone out there can give me a hand... I want to build a 10 sec. motor, but only have experience with the big blocks (455 buick). Where can I go to get info on these things? Any good books? Who sells the parts? As you can tell, I'm very new to the turbo six, but have been admiring what it can do for a long time. I would really appreciate a shove in the right direction. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
43,735 Posts
Here's a good starting place
http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/recipes/recipepage.html

read the various recipes listed here. Don't spend any money until you have looked around and fully understand what you are going to do and really need.

Also, be forewarned that once you hit the high tens, the ground starts getting shaky and expensive. About 10.8, in my opinion, is where you start breaking more than stays together so don't rush any until you know what you are doing. Mid 11s are pretty easy and pretty reliable if everything is done correctly.

·
SCONE WIZARD...
704 Posts
Have to agree 100% with what Steve said..

As for where to get the parts.. I see that you are in Ohio.. There are a TON of TRs in Ohio that are running low 11s and way faster.. I'd start by giving Red Armstrong a call, as he should be able to get you anything you'd need [and tell you what you wont need] and if not will find you someone who can. Vince Janis [in Ohio] Transmission rebuild if you haven't yet done yours, is a good idea if you are doing a 10 sec buildup..

Another vendor who is second to none for awesome service and buying parts is Jack Cotton. I think he is in Massachusetts.

------------------
DTA... don't trust anybody...
- - - - - -
Steve Ruston
1989 Mustang LX Coupe
5 speed, mostly stock w/ small mods... For now anyway :D
1976 Chev Caprice Classic,
96000 miles, Red, 400 SBC, TH 350, BIG heavy chrome bumpers..