Turbo Buick Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I'm really new to this whole Turbo Buick thing and cars in general. I'm 19 years old and just last year got a 87 Cutlass very simple stuff to work on.

I'm looking into selling the Cutlass for about 4500, I'm going to purcahse a 1987 T Type from a member on this site If the cars frame is solid and the car has a solid foundation. I know there is alot of things to consider when running a Turbo Buick. If I end up buying the car would anyone with experince building and working on Turbo Buick Motors and Trans be willing to teach me the important factors.

Like I said I know very littel about cars in general. I'm a smart kid but I'd like some of the wisdom from the guys who have had these for a while to teach me some things.

I know the car will need a scanmaster and a TT chip right away but I'm not sure how to use either:dunno:

Anyways I'll let you know if I buy the car. I'm just wanting to see who could help so I can let them know as soon as I can.

Thanks Justin

·
Why have one ?
5,676 Posts
Save your money and buy a nice one already done or in real nice shape . they are huge money pits of hell and work when you buy them rough with the dreams of fixing them up . even more so if your not mechanical inclined . In the meantime while your saving your money . read..ask questions and learn all you can about them .Sorry if this wasnt the sugar coated reply you were maybe looking for . :)

·
Registered
684 Posts
Take your time and find a good solid car to work with. Don't get discouraged if the car your looking at isn't up to snuff.....like the above post, these can be money pits.
I spent probably 4 yrs hunting on and off til I found my LTD. Owned by an old fart, and was bone stock, so I knew the bottom hadn't been rattled alot.
I'd be more than happy to help you out, but a tad too far. Lots of knowledgeable good guys out your way.

·
OK! Who Farted Again??
17,852 Posts