Turbo Buick Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Free Door Removal
1,686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to buy my first set of slicks for my cutlass. Wondering what I should get?

Mickey T.
Phoenix
Goodyear
Hoosier
MH
other?

I have zero experience with slicks or drag radials, so I have no personal preferance. Should I look for a set of used slicks, buy brand new and get new tubes?

Going to get about a 10 or 10.5 tire for stock wheel well on a 15x7 or 18x8 wheel which I also dont own yet. Should I just get some cheap steel wheels or what?

How many passes will a set of slicks net me?

Joe

·
Registered
743 Posts
I run a 28x9 Mickey slick on a 15x7 wheel on my T-Type,with the best of a 1.58 60ft.I have run the Phoenix on my Chevelle 30x10.5 leaving off the transbrake at 4200 and they hook hard! mid 1.40 60fts.I have run 9.50's on a set of Mickey 33x10.5w tires with my Camaro,and have gone 1.30 60fts with them.So they are both great tires.You cant really go wrong with either tire.I have always run slicks on all my cars even on the street with no problems(unless it rains :rolleyes: ).I dont run tubes because they are a pain in the a$$.Also with all the street driving I do,if you get a flat with a slick and no tube you can plug it.With a tube if it goes flat you screwed.Also you can always buy a set used cheap,my last set for the Buick I bought for $50 and the lasted all last summer.Remember if you go with slicks and have radials on the front you will get a bit of sway in the rear of the car unless you have alot of tire pressure in them,with the drag radials you wont get it.It has never bothered me so I run the slicks and because they hook the best period.

·
Registered
125 Posts
With 15 x 7's go with 26 x 10.