Turbo Buick Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i am new to the turbo cars . An have read some of the posts . an was wondering what parts i should stay away from , an which are good .
i have a 87 gn that is stock . the eng is out an will need to be rebuilt as the nylon gear broke an valves hit pistons .

i would like the car to be street / strip . any idea about cams ,timing chain , ect would be great . i would like to stay with a flat tapet cam . as i have to spend money on machine work an parts.

·
Registered
177 Posts
what are u looking to run? are you upgrading anything? what kina performance are you looking for?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
not sure what i am wanting to run yet . but would like to start changing stuff for when i get bigger injectors, turbo , ect. but still want the car streetable. hope to be in the near future low 12s.

·
Free Door Removal
1,686 Posts
I would at least go with ARP hardware on the bottom end. If you need new pistons/overbore I used the wiseco pro-true pistons and liked them, others have used TRW, JE, diamond etc. Depends on how much you want to spend I guess but a lot of guys are going real fast on "cheaper" pistons.

Cams: I would do a quick search you can find tons of threads on this. Pretty much dont go over a [email protected] is the general consensus for the times you want, I dont have experience with cams any bigger so I cant help ya out there. Personally I am putting an erson 208-208 in my new motor. Roller cams are great for these motors becuase of the occasional "cam eater" engine but are expensive and some still have problems. A big block car at the drags (hot streetish build) exploded a roller lifter last weekend at the drags.