Turbo Buick Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am an auto engineer and a car guy through and through.

I have participated in the Chevelle Tech Forum and it's a great resource, as it looks like TurboBuicks.com is as well.

I have a 1971 Chevelle SS Convertible, 2002 Camaro SS Coupe, and am planning to drive a few hours in the next few days to look at a 1987 GN that is supposedly all original (newer tires and battery.) Owner sounds realistic and indicated there is some paint checking, etc., but it sounds pretty clean and straight.

It sounds like the car has been driven every summer (at least for the last 12 years) so it has not been pickled or in long term storage.

My questions for you:

1) How would you value the car, assuming the claim of originality is accurate? NADA classic car value guide shows a wide range that doesn't help much.

2) Any input on checking the engine/trans/rear end ID numbers? Where would I find them, and what should I check to ensure originality?

3) Anything specific you'd recommend checking besides the "usual"?

Thanks a lot!!!

Hopefully I'll soon have a GN to go along with the user forum!!

Scott M.

·
Registered
684 Posts
Hi everyone,

I am an auto engineer and a car guy through and through.

I have participated in the Chevelle Tech Forum and it's a great resource, as it looks like TurboBuicks.com is as well.

I have a 1971 Chevelle SS Convertible, 2002 Camaro SS Coupe, and am planning to drive a few hours in the next few days to look at a 1987 GN that is supposedly all original (newer tires and battery.) Owner sounds realistic and indicated there is some paint checking, etc., but it sounds pretty clean and straight.

It sounds like the car has been driven every summer (at least for the last 12 years) so it has not been pickled or in long term storage.

My questions for you: