Turbo Buick Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,200 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I've read tons of info on the forums and I know that these cars easily break 12's with a little work and alot of expensive gas.

My challenge is to build a 86-87 GN that that can easily run mid 12's on pump gas. Yet still be somewhat streetable. (but by no means has to be a daily driver)Slicks will be a must I'm sure. And so will weight reduction.

I realize this same car will probably be capable of 11's or faster with some 112 and timing. But I'm interested in doing it with some simple 93 octane. Give or take a little toluene. So I'd say 95 octane max.

From what I've read it seems these cars pull these incredable times because of the massive amount of torque and traction they are capable of. I think I'll have to make up for this and try to create more HP and less torque. Is this possible?

Now it's all you experts turn.... HELP ME PLEASE? Tell me what I have to do. I'm new to these powerplants. I'm a certified aircraft mechanic and have the means.

Thanks everyone

------------------
Nasty a$$ GST mitsubishi.13.80's though! Looking everywhere for a GN help!!

[This message has been edited by VxTurboxV (edited October 21, 2002).]

[This message has been edited by VxTurboxV (edited October 21, 2002).]

·
Registered
6,966 Posts
No slicks needed just some good Drag Radials.

Alky. and 94 pump gas.

Street car driven every day.

11's are the numbers that are difficult.

------------------
WE4, 140K, Daily Driver, PTE51, 43lb. Bosch, THDP hollow cat., Postons Headers, 2 1/2"SS Ultraflows and pipes, 16 pos. Maxeffort thumbwheel 20*, EGT/Bilsteins, Boxed Cont. arms/Airbags/snubber,Blizzak snows, Nittos DR, 307, adj.reg./ SMC alky, 9 gauges,scamaster and D.Scan,BSTC, translator and 31/2"MAF, V4 inter. DYNO. TESTED!!!: 356RWHP 529ft.lb. Torque PROVEN!!!