race gas - TurboBuicks.com

TurboBuicks.com  
Go Back   TurboBuicks.com > Technical Forums > Alcohol, Propane & Nitrous

TurboBuicks.com is the premier Buick Regal Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2010, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)

race gas

im new to the turbo stuff...bought a car that has alot of stuff done to it...boost guage in car only reads 20 psi and it pegs it out(new guage on the way)...my question is,in the higher boost (15 psi and higher) i had detonation,which in turn from my racing days,i thought was lack of octane...so i have been running 110 octane race gas,but i was told that the 110 race gas was not good for the o2 sensor and would cause my motor to go lean....i need helpful advice because as u can see i am lost...any help would be greatly appreciated
Superhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-08-2010, 08:23 AM   #2 (permalink)

Lost you are.. first thing is read read on these forums. Learn to use the search feature.

Then if the car does not have a scanmaster.. buy one. This is very first step 1.

Then.. turn the boost down before your rebuilding an engine

Then.. get the motor to run cleanly at a lower boost level. That may be 15 psi.. maybe 20 psi. Dont start high and work your way down.. start low and work your way up.

Any knock and you'll be rebuilding the motor in short time. If its audible.. you'll be in a bunch of trouble quickly.

lastly.. technically.. with 110 you should be able and run past 20 PSI boost "IF" all the things are setup to do so correctly. Having a 20 PSI gauge and pegging it is a big NO NO when your new to the car.

Yes lead kills the O2. There are ways around it.. alcohol injection is one.
Razor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)

110 wont cause it to go lean.. boost will.