TurboBuicks.com  

Go Back   TurboBuicks.com > Miscellaneous > The Waiting Room
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Garage Store Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2005, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Gothmog
Lieutenant of Morgul
 
Gothmog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,459
New Paypal scam..beware

Dear Paypal User

You have added o0_yuna_baby_o0@yahoo.com as a new email
address for your PayPal account.

If you did not authorize this change or if you need
assistance with your account, please contact PayPal customer
service at:

http://www.paypalonlineupdate.info/i...cmd=_login-run

Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team

Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this
address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your
PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the header of any
page.




The return address was service@Paypal, and the link included looks just like the real Paypal site, I sent it to Paypal, and they said it wasn't from them.
__________________
Dave

87 GN T-Top
87 GN Astroroof w/Digital Dash
87 GN Astroroof
90 P/U
03 Mazda MPV
80 Regal Turbo-STOLEN. 4K473AH108541<Reward for Return
Gothmog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Shane
Free at Last
 
Shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago, IL / Dearborn, MI
Posts: 600
Send a message via AIM to Shane
Why not just give him a call and tell him not to scam you anymore?

Quote:
Domain ID10507767-LRMS
Domain Name:PAYPALONLINEUPDATE.INFO
Created On:03-Jul-2005 17:38:27 UTC
Last Updated On:04-Jul-2005 14:43:04 UTC
Expiration Date:03-Jul-2008 17:38:27 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R158-LRMS
Status:ACTIVE
Status:OK
Registrant ID:C10500853-LRMS
Registrant Name:Peter Jaly
Registrant Organization:Hosting
Registrant Street1:7 Viewland Drive
Registrant City:7 Viewland Drive
Registrant Postal Code:4562
Registrant Country:AU
Registrant Phone:+82.78676787868
Registrant Email:woolleyc1949@yahoo.com
That's probably a fake number, but what do I know about Australian phones
__________________
  • Shane Smith - - 86 Grand National
  • TA-49, BlueTops, AFPR, Big Mouth Cold Air Kit, 3.5" MAF Pipe, LS1 MAF Sensor
  • Translator Plus, Extender Chip, Walbro 340, Optima Red Top, F-Body Radiator
Shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
forzfed
Registered User
 
forzfed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Winterpeg
Posts: 5,567
Where did you get that info from, Shane? Pretty cool stuff!
forzfed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 08:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Shane
Free at Last
 
Shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago, IL / Dearborn, MI
Posts: 600
Send a message via AIM to Shane
http://www.networksolutions.com/en_US/whois/index.jhtml

You just type in the web address and you get all sorts of interesting information. It's not definitive, but it can get you on the right track.

__________________
  • Shane Smith - - 86 Grand National
  • TA-49, BlueTops, AFPR, Big Mouth Cold Air Kit, 3.5" MAF Pipe, LS1 MAF Sensor
  • Translator Plus, Extender Chip, Walbro 340, Optima Red Top, F-Body Radiator
Shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 09:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
forzfed
Registered User
 
forzfed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Winterpeg
Posts: 5,567
Thumbs up

That's an awesome site! Thanks for the link!
forzfed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Gothmog
Lieutenant of Morgul
 
Gothmog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,459
That IS cool!
__________________
Dave

87 GN T-Top
87 GN Astroroof w/Digital Dash
87 GN Astroroof
90 P/U
03 Mazda MPV
80 Regal Turbo-STOLEN. 4K473AH108541<Reward for Return
Gothmog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 07:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
stevemon
Vote for Guy Fawkes
 
stevemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Jamaica Pass, Ok
Posts: 3,810
Send a message via Yahoo to stevemon
I think this only provides the info for the person who owns the domain.
I tried it w/mine and it showed my street address, phone number & email.
__________________
stevemonroe@cox.net

1986 GN, 11.80 @ 114, stock turbo. Now in my God sons care.
1989 TTA #10, Sold
1967 Buick Spl Deluxe. GS Clone, Sold
1957 Buick Special 2nd new Buick in the family (sold)
1950 Special 4 dr sdn. Families 1st new Buick. Got the Bling Grill



DIY Alcohol Injection

62 mm Throttle Bodys

Liberalism faltered when it turned out it could not cope with truth. D. Moynihan

Some in my party threaten to send a message that they don't know a just war when they see it, and more broadly that they're not prepared to use our military strength to protect our security and the cause of freedom. Joe Lieberman

Somehow liberals have been unable to acquire from life what conservatives seem to be endowed with at birth: namely, a healthy skepticism of the powers of government agencies to do good. Daniel Moynihan


When we are planning for posterity, we ought to remember that virtue is not hereditary. T. Paine
stevemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 07:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Shane
Free at Last
 
Shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chicago, IL / Dearborn, MI
Posts: 600
Send a message via AIM to Shane
You're correct, but on a site like this odds are that the registerant is the one that is also the scammer.
__________________
  • Shane Smith - - 86 Grand National
  • TA-49, BlueTops, AFPR, Big Mouth Cold Air Kit, 3.5" MAF Pipe, LS1 MAF Sensor
  • Translator Plus, Extender Chip, Walbro 340, Optima Red Top, F-Body Radiator
Shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
PaCemkr86
WFO Racing
 
PaCemkr86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Odem,Texas
Posts: 1,252
Send a message via AIM to PaCemkr86
cool link, thanks !
PaCemkr86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 12:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Tonka
Registered User
 
Tonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Western ND
Posts: 485
Had an email come in like that too, except it said I had sent money to someone I never actually had.
__________________
Troy
best 1/4:
best 1/8: 7.32@93.4mph, 1.64 60ft (22psi, 18 deg)
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 10:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Old Buzzard
Older than dirt
 
Old Buzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Madison, GA., USA
Posts: 1,747
Send a message via AIM to Old Buzzard
Question ??????????

I see that this info is shown:
Registrant Street1:7 Viewland Drive
Registrant City:7 Viewland Drive

I wonder how the street addy and the name of the city are the same???
__________________
Chuck Leeper
FUEL INJECTION SERVICE
WWW.CODYMOTORSPORTS.COM
706-342-3152
86 GN
9.98 @ 141
Old Buzzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 07:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Long Duk Dong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL, USA
Posts: 1,612
I have noticed that when I have looked at the actual link and not the code posted it shows a slightly different URL. There is always a letter or number that is slightly different, such as the "https://" as well as a few others.
__________________
"I have tendency to wear my mind on my sleeve. I have a history of losing my shirt."

Bozone (n.): The substance surrounding stupid people that stops good ideas from penetrating.
www.cottonsperformance.com

Long Duk Dong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0